At Accident Agents, we understand that car accidents can be jarring, traumatic, and scary. For this reason, it’s imperative to understand what your next steps will be following an accident, in order to have the tools you need for a desirable outcome. Here are a few notes that our expert case managers can advise about what you need to know about car accidents in Florida.

Florida Insurance Requirements

In the state of Florida, there are legal minimum requirements for insurance. Drivers must carry at least $10k for property damage liability and $10k for Personal Injury Protection (PIP). The latter covers non-property injuries such as lost wages or personal injury. However, there are several policy options that will determine what the outcome will be -therefore it’s important to fully read and understand all the elections your insurance policy may carry.

The Statute of Limitations

Time is of the essence after experiencing any vehicle crash or a personal injury accident, where the other driver was negligent. In the state of Florida, you must visit a medical professional to begin your claim within 14 days of an incident. If you fail to do so, you forfeit $10,000.00 in benefits and can accept only $2,500.00 in benefits after this time has passed. Also, it is important to consider that you have up to a 4 year limit to file a lawsuit if your doctor discovers injuries relating to the accident two years later. This limitation starts from the day of diagnosis.On the other hand, if your injury claims are against a government entity, you have only 90 days to file a suit.

Determining the Accident Settlement

When it comes to auto accident settlement, several factors play out. These include:· The severity of your injuries· Loss of future income as a result of the injury

  • The cost of medical care
  • Your degree of fault in the accident
  • Your insurance coverage
  • Insurance Coverage of the ‘’at fault’’ party

Even with all the factors playing in your favor, you and your attorney need to have as much supporting evidence as possible to help you win your case.

Pure Comparative Fault Rules

Even when both drivers are at fault, you can still file an insurance claim under the ‘’pure comparative fault system’’. For example, if you are 60% liable to pay $10,000 in damages, you can still sue for 40% ($4,000) in compensation for damages.

Florida is a No-fault State.

Instead of pursuing insurance from the driver at fault, you should file a claim from your insurance carrier. However, depending on the extent of the injuries, the victim may still pursue further damages from the negligent driver.

Free Services at Accident Agents

In case of an accident in Tampa Bay, we can help you get urgent medical attention and refer you to professional legal advisors who will help you get the best settlement possible. We guide you through what to do to ease the tension and the stress so you can focus on getting better. Contact us today to learn more about how Accident Agents can help!